Madness

Madness Engine Logo - Slightly Mad Studios

在过去十年中,MADNESS一直由游戏行业中最具才华的人进行开发,编程团队平均拥有约20年的专业游戏开发经验。

multi core cpu icon - slightly mad studios

多核

MADNESS的编写考虑了多核/处理器架构。它是一个跨平台的引擎和开发框架,以高性能和行业领先的视觉和物理学而闻名。

modulor icon - slightly mad studios

模块化

该引擎采用抽象方法开发,从第一天开始,就为程序员和设计人员提供了提高效率和创建平台无关性内容的可能性。 MADNESS的模块化结构还允许以各种方式进行配置,以满足各个项目的要求。将渲染作业和物理迭代步骤等项目分解为更小的模块,这种能力意味着它们可以在占用很少的CPU空闲时间的情况下有效地平衡线程。

prototyping icon - slightly mad studios

原型

在当今竞争激烈的市场中,原始设备制造商们最感兴趣的就是复制测试环境,以最小的资本性支出和更快速的上市时间提供可靠和真实的数据。虚拟原型设计是车辆工程设计的关键领域,有助于零物理原型车的开发。

ADAS icon - slightly mad studios

高级驾驶辅助系统(ADAS)

高级驾驶辅助系统和自动驾驶汽车系统是这一趋势中最新的、愈发清晰起来的部分,汽车也包含了越来越复杂的驾驶员辅助系统。以上部分的开发成本很高,难以在真实的驾驶条件下进行验证,因此就呼唤越来越复杂的人机界面,这些界面必须易于理解且易于使用。因为车辆的行为需要高保真度,因而这些系统需要使用高性能驾驶模拟器。

Asset race-track - Slightly Mad Studios

资产

我们的“精细到厘米”的激光扫描型电路库是专业仿真的终极资产。我们的可授权模型包括高清晰度激光探测与测量(LiDAR)模型和定期用于测试的电路。我们的资产库包含标准轨道和城市轨道。也可根据要求设计定制轨道,如制造商的测试轨道或特定的城市轨道。

由专业人士使用

专业赛车手使用我们的模拟技术在现实生活中进行练习。另一方面,驾驶员的反馈也有助于我们使用经验丰富的实际场景来改进模拟。

它执行

人工智能

高级人工智能与决策制定

物理学

先进的车辆物理学/驾驶动态系统

多层级

根据环境数据动态更改属性的静态多层界面

NVIDIA PhysX

NVIDIA PhysX 支持的世界物理、特征和物体的高级物理

现实

现实的景深和运动模糊

灯光

光能传递,光照贴图,光泽贴图和各向异性照明

环境

高级环境模拟(例如,时间、动态和本地化属性)

HDR

每个像素,每个顶点和体积照明,高动态范围成像(HDR)照明和置换贴图

界面

专有的Live Track 3.0技术,提供界面当前状态的实时信息

极尽详细

我们的引擎具有丰富的功能,结合极尽详细的轮胎模型和高达2000Hz的模拟器,易于扩展,使MADNESS引擎成为最为细节化的赛车软件模拟引擎之一。

主要技术特点

LIVETRACK 3.0

随着LiveTrack 3.0为动态赛道环境和可选择的天气条件提供动力,您的车在离开维修站的时候可能会是全新未遭腐蚀的,但它不会一直保持这种状态。就像在现实世界中一样,车上也会积聚泥土、雪或灰尘;挡风玻璃上会有灰尘和刮伤。但是在比赛中取得胜利,您可以骄傲地把车上的污垢视为自己投入的努力的奖章。

水模拟

Livetrack 3.0具有内置水模拟技术,可实时模拟降雨、地面饱和度、地表水和水坑。每个点反应都基于表面的材料和温度。每个模拟点都能够与其左右邻居进行通信,将地表水体实时移动到表面细节的最低点。

通过车辆轮胎移动表面和饱和水平可以使水相互作用。输入直接来自天气系统(例如环境温度和落在轨道上的雨水)和车辆相互作用(因此轮胎将松散的材料移动到其表面上,并将热量从轮胎传递到轨道)。它还为轮胎模型(接触胎面下有多少松散材料)和音频/视频系统提供数据。

在LIVETRACK 3.0的界面下

在游戏中让赛道看起来很炫酷只是成功的一部分。使用最新版本的LiveTrack,每条赛道都是一个活的生命体,在比赛过程中,根据天气变化和赛车运动不断演变。在一次开放练习赛中,赛道可能相对“绿色​​”,但是在比赛中,它可能看起来比较饱经沧桑,赛事中的各种车辆驶过,黑色的刹车线纵横交错,车辆的运动把泥土和碎石散落在赛道的外围,赛道的界线也没那么明晰了。采用示例性基础几何结构,LiveTrack实现动态轨道演变,同时还有可变的天气和风向以及季节变化。轨道温度、环境温度、海拔高度和时间年份都添加到了考虑范围内:由于自然的大气条件,你在夏天可能会比在冬天开得快一点。每次驶上轨道的时候,您都可以获得不同的体验。事实上,每个转角处都有不一样的风景!

下雪天?到了赛车的时间了

无论天气怎么样,随时都是适合比赛的时间——而选择参加比赛的日期对赛道及其状况有直接影响。在春天进行赛车,树木将开花——大自然是有生命的。在盛夏,于炎热的太阳下(或下雨天,您也可以这样选择!)进行比赛。在秋天,伴随着景观变成橙色和红色,您极速穿梭过纷纷的落叶。当树木光秃秃,空气变得清冽时,您会发现看台上的观众包裹得严严实实的,以抵御寒冬。或者让雪花落下,用洁白的毯子盖住你的世界。根据一年中的不同时间,每条赛道都将具有独有的特性,当与动态天气选项和LiveTrack结合使用时,能够带来令人难以置信的效果,可用作构建定制赛车环境的基础。使用地球相对于太阳的位置驱动的精确数据,和普通的天气条件一样影响环境光线,白天可以更短或更长。

SETA轮胎模型(STM)

我们轮胎模型的物理性和控制性非常先进。我们革命性的Seta轮胎模型(STM)在执行最真实的驾驶模拟体验中发挥着关键作用。STM是一种全动态轮胎模拟,具有三个模块化仿真组件:

车架模拟

我们的车架模拟是一种有限元模拟,具有针对实时轮胎模拟的特定计算优化。车架被离散成小的连接“元件”,每个元件由于受力而弯曲和变形。

线程模拟

《赛车计划》中使用的接触胎面模拟是接触面的有限差分模拟,轮胎胎面“流过”接触面。整个胎面本身被离散化为和胎体非常相似的元素,但接触胎面本身是一个有限差分网格。

传热模拟

传热模拟处理制动器、轮舱、轮辋、胎体和胎面层之间的热流。胎面元件之间的热传递,从胎面元件到路面,以及从胎面元件到空气,都直接通过胎面模拟(包括平流和蒸发)来处理。轮胎的压力是通过理想气体定律的胎体模拟来维持的。

车辆模型

MADNESS引擎不仅仅是表面的视觉效果,它在高度细节化的模拟和物理性方面也享有全球声誉。轮胎模型,物理性能和操控性是游戏行业中最先进的——十分高端先进,专业赛车手也会在现实生活中用它来练习比赛。同时,车手也向团队提供有关处理的反馈,帮助使用合格的实际场景优化模拟。车手、工程师、轮胎制造商和汽车制造商之间的这种相互关联的关系,是设计的核心结构,保证了模拟的保真度。

多体解决方案(MTS)

我们的多体包含一组刚体,其质量代表车辆的底盘、燃料、驱动器、车轮和主轴,以及一组约束体,包括铰链和关节,以代表悬架系统。

得益于一套解决运动方程的强大计算算法,Madness MBS用于计算当前位置和速度。随后,Madness引擎使用车辆底盘和悬架的加速度(包括确保车身处于有效状态),重量传递和悬架的轮胎负载。

底盘合规

Madness引擎使用现实世界制造商通常提供的值来表示底盘,包括质量和惯性。我们尝试在多体解算器中代表不同类型的悬架系统,以直接与车辆匹配。

虚拟现实的实施

“MADNESS引擎中的VR实施从一开始就设计为完全可扩展,允许我们对即将到来的硬件轻松添加支持,包括运动控制器和HMD头戴式显示器。

我们与VR硬件行业的众多主要参与者密切合作,以确保我们始终掌握最新的硬件;与他们合作,尽快在我们的引擎中实施支持。这样一来,可确保我们的发动机始终与VR行业的最新发展保持同步。我们的VR设置功能齐全,只要有足够的图形处理能力,我们就可以在VR中渲染与在平板显示器上相同的高质量视觉效果。

我们已经可以让玩家看清驾驶舱内部——考虑到所需的处理能力,我们可以为汽车内饰的展厅品质视觉效果做到这一点。”

尖端虚拟现实

脸书旗下的Oculus选择VR中的《赛车计划》作为Oculus Rift耳机的主要发布标题,并将其评为最具吸引力的VR体验之一。由HTC Vive支持发布的《赛车计划:年度最佳游戏版》也证实本软件处于VR软件领域的最前沿。

功能丰富

该引擎以高帧率运行,拥有流畅的体验,并利用设备的特定功能,如异步时间扭曲和重新投影。此外,该技术通过投影平面显示用户界面,以便让用户能在VR环境中进行直观访问。

灵活性

VR实施与游戏和项目无关,完全符合定制的Oculus SDK和HTC Vive以及许多其他兼容VR设备使用的更广泛的开放式VR界面。VR功能可用于任何合适的应用,如虚拟陈列室到小行星挖掘模拟等,而VR实施的灵活性与高分辨率相结合,则使我们的VR可适用于任何目标应用。

Madness

Madness Engine Logo - Slightly Mad Studios

MADNESS has been developed over the past decade by some of the most talented people in the games industry with the programming team averaging approximately 20 years of professional game development experience each.

multi core cpu icon - slightly mad studios

MULTI-CORE

MADNESS has been written with multi-core/processor architecture in mind. It is a cross-platform engine and development framework with a reputation for high performance and industry leading visuals and physics.

modulor icon - slightly mad studios

MODULAR

The engine has been developed with an abstract approach which offers programmers and designers the possibility to gain in efficiency and create platform agnostic content from day one. MADNESS’ modular structure also allows it to be configured in a variety of ways to suit each project’s requirements. The ability to break down items such as render jobs and physics iteration steps into smaller chunks means that they can be balanced across threads efficiently with very little CPU idle time.

prototyping icon - slightly mad studios

PROTOTYPING

In today’s highly competitive markets, it is OEM’s best interest to replicate test environments that provide reliable and real-life data with a minimum CAPEX and accelerated time to market. Virtual prototyping is a key area in vehicle engineering design, contributing to the zero-physical prototype vehicle development.

ADAS icon - slightly mad studios

ADAS

ADAS and autonomous vehicle systems are the newest and progressively most visible part of this trend, as cars are including more and more sophisticated diver aid systems. These are costly to develop and difficult to validate in realistic driving conditions calling for more and more sophisticated man/machine interfaces which must be understandable and easy to use. These systems necessitate the use of high-performance driving simulators as the behaviours of the vehicle needs to be of high fidelity.

Asset race-track - Slightly Mad Studios

ASSETS

Our ‘to the centimeter ‘ laser scanned circuit library is the ultimate asset for professional simulation. Our licensable models comprise high definition LiDAR models as well as circuits that are used regularly for testing. Our library of assets contains standard tracks and city tracks. Bespoke tracks such as manufacturers’ test tracks or specific city tracks can be designed upon request.

Used by Professionals

Our simulation technology is used by professional racing drivers to practice for real life-races . Drivers’ feedback on the other hand help us refine the simulation using experienced real-world scenarios.

It performs

A.I.

Advanced AI with decision making

PHYSICS

Advanced vehicle physics/driving dynamics system

MULTI-LAYER

Static multi-layered surfaces changing properties dynamically depending on environmental data

NVIDIA PhysX

Advanced physics for world physics, characters and objects with NVIDIA PhysX support

REALISTIC

Realistic depth of field and motion blur

LIGHTING

Radiosity, lightmapping, gloss maps, and anisotropic lighting

ENVIRONMENT

Advanced environment simulation (e.g. time of day, dynamic and localized properties)

HDR

HDR lighting and displacement maps, per-pixel, per-vertex and volumetric lighting

SURFACES

Proprietary Live Track 3.0 technology which provides real-time information of the current state of the surface

Highly detailed

Our engine’s rich set of features, combined with a high detailed tire model and simulation of up to 2000Hz, easily scalable, make the MADNESS engine one of the most highly detailed racing software simulation engines available.

Key Technical Features

LIVETRACK 3.0

With LiveTrack 3.0 powering a dynamic track environment and selectable weather conditions, you might leave the pits with a pristine car but it never stays that way for long. Just like in the real world, mud, snow or dust will build up on the car; the
wipers will likely be clearing more than just rain; windscreens can become dusty and scratched. But claim victory in a race and you can wear the dirt on the car as a badge of pride for the effort you’ve put in.

WATER SIMULATION

Livetrack 3.0 has a built-in water simulation technology that simulates rainfall, saturation of the ground, surface water and puddles in real time. Each point reaction is based on the material and temperature of the surface. Each simulation point is able to communicate with its neighbours, moving bodies of surface water to the lowest points of the surface detail all in real time.

 

Water can be interacted with via vehicle tyres moving surface and saturation levels. Inputs come directly from the weather systems (such as ambient temperature and levels of rain falling on the track) and from vehicle interactions (so tyres moving loose materials onto it and transferring heat from the tyres to the track). It also supplies data to the tyre model (so how much loose material is under the contact patch) and to the audio/visual systems.

UNDER THE SURFACE OF LIVETRACK 3.0

Making a track look amazing in the game is only part of the deal. With the latest version of LiveTrack, each track is a living thing, evolving over the course of a race event through both changes in the weather and the actions of the cars themselves. In an opening practice session, the track might be relatively ‘green’, but come the race it can be rubbered-in from all the cars at the event, with thick black lines criss-crossing the track and dirt and gravel scattered over its periphery from moves that pushed the boundaries in every sense. Taking an exemplary base geometry, LiveTrack implements dynamic track evolution, along with changeable weather and wind direction as well as seasonal variations. Track temperatures, ambient temperatures, height above sea level and time of year are all added in to the mix: you’ll likely be a little faster in the summer than you are in the winter just due
to the natural atmospheric conditions. Every time you visit a track, you can have a different experience. In fact, every time you visit a corner you can have a different experience!

SNOW? MUST BE TIME TO RACE

Whatever the day, it’s always the right time to race – and the date you choose to race on has a direct impact on the track and its conditions. Compete in the spring and the trees will be coming into bloom – nature will be alive. Race in the height of
summer under a blazing sun (or rain, if you so choose!). Blast through falling leaves in autumn as the landscape morphs into oranges and reds. Spot the hardy spectators in the grandstands wrapped up for winter as the trees are bare and
the air crisp. Or bring down the snow flurries and cover your world in a blanket of white. Each track will have a unique characteristic depending on the time of year, which can be used as a base to build up bespoke racing environments when used in conjunction with the dynamic weather options and the incredible effects that
LiveTrack adds in. Days will be shorter or longer, using exact data driven by the position of the earth relative to the sun on that date, affecting the ambient light just as much as prevailing weather conditions.

SETA TIRE MODEL (STM)

Our tire models, physics and handling are extremely advanced. Our revolutionary Seta Tire Model (STM) plays a key role in performing the most authentic driving simulation experience. STM is a full dynamic tire simulation with three modular simulation components:

CARCASS SIMULATION

Our carcass simulation is a finite element simulation with specific computational optimizations specific to real time tire simulation. The carcass is discretized into small connected “elements”, each one flexing and deforming due to forces.

THREAD SIMULATION

The tread simulation used in Project Cars is a finite difference simulation of the contact patch, with the tire tread “flowing” through the contact patch. The whole tread itself is discretized into elements much like the carcass, but the contact patch itself is a finite difference grid.

HEAT TRANSFER SIMULATION

The heat transfer simulation handles heat flow between brakes, wheel well, rim, carcass, and tread layers. The heat transfer amongst tread elements, from tread elements to the road surface, and from the tread elements to the air are handled directly by the tread simulation (including advection and evaporation). The pressure of the tire is maintained by the carcass simulation via the ideal gas law.

VEHICLE MODEL

The MADNESS engine isn’t just about superficial visuals but also has a global reputation for highly-detailed simulation and physics. The tyre model, physics, and handling are the most advanced in the games industry—so advanced that professional racing drivers use it to practise for real-life races. Drivers also provide feedback to the team regarding handling to help refine the simulation using qualified real-world scenarios. This interlinked relationship between drivers, engineers, tyre manufacturers, and auto-makers is the core fabric of design that guarantees the fidelity of the simulation.

MULTI BODY SOLVER (MTS)

Our multi body contains a set of rigid bodies with mass representing the chassis, fuel, driver, wheels and spindles of the vehicle and a set of constraints including hinges and joints to represent the suspension system.

Thanks to a set of powerful computation algorithms that solve equations of motion, Madness MBS is used to calculate the current position and velocities. Madness engine then uses the accelerations of the vehicle’s chassis and suspension (including ensuring the bodies are in a valid state), weight transfer and tyre load from the suspension.

CHASSIS COMPLIANCE

Madness engine uses real world values generally supplied by the manufacturers to represent the chassis including mass and inertia. We try to represent different types of suspension systems within the multi body solver to match directly with the vehicle.

VR IMPLEMENTATION

The VR implementation in the MADNESS engine was designed from the ground up to be fully extensible, allowing us to easily add support for upcoming hardware, including motion controllers and HMDs.

We work closely with many key players in the VR hardware industry to ensure that we are always abreast of upcoming hardware and work with them to implement support in our engine as soon as is feasible. Thus, we ensure that our engine is always up-to-date with the latest developments in the VR industry. Our VR setup is fully featured, in that we can render the same high-quality visuals in VR as on a flat monitor, so long as there is sufficient graphics processing power available.

We already allow the player to get up close with the cockpit internals – and given the processing power needed we could do this for showroom quality visuals of a car interior.

CUTTING-EDGE VR

Facebook-owned Oculus chose “Project CARS” in VR as a primary launch title for the Oculus Rift headset where it rated highly as one of the most compelling VR experiences available. The release of “Project CARS: Game of the Year Edition” with HTC Vive support confirmed the software to be at the forefront of the VR software space.

FEATURE RICH

The engine runs at a high frame-rate for a smooth experience and utilises device-specific features such as Asynchronous Time Warp and Re-Projection. In addition, the technology displays the user interface via a projected plane in order to provide the user with intuitive access within the VR environment.

FLEXIBILITY

VR implementation is game- and project-agnostic and is fully compliant with both the bespoke Oculus SDK and the wider OpenVR interface used by HTC Vive and many other compatible VR devices. VR features can be used in any suitable application from Virtual Showrooms to Asteroid Mining simulations and beyond, while the flexibility of the VR implementation combined with high-resolution make our VR suitable for any target application.